December 20, 2012

  • I wanna sue them

    True story.  Left without interpretation for you to discuss among yourselves.

     

     

    Her:  ”Doc, I need you to test me for drugs,” she said, straight-faced and serious.

     

    Me:  ”OK,” I answered, “why is that?”

     

    Her:  ”Well, I think they put something in my crack.  After I smoked it, I got all paranoid and felt all dizzy.  It’s been 2 hours, I’m fine now, but I think they put something in it.”

     

    Me:  ”Wait, what?  You smoked crack and then you felt dizzy and paranoid.  But you want me to test you for drugs?”

     

    Her:  ”Test me to find out  what they put in it.  They can’t do that.  I’m gonna sue them!”

     

    Me:  ”You want me to test you to see what your dealers may have put in your crack so that you can sue them?”

    Her:  ”Yeah, I got an attorney and all that, just test my blood,”

     

    Me:  ”You know crack is illegal right?”

     

    Her:  ”But they can’t do that,”

     

    Me:  ”<speechless>” 

     

     

Comments (4)

  • Wow. Is all I have to say.

  • That reminds me of a story I read a few months back in the Washington Post. Some lady was HIV+ but had not told her boyfriend, who she was having unprotected sex with.  She had been HIV+ for years. She wanted to bring boyfriend to next appt and pretend “OMG I JUST TESTED HIV+!  Maybe you gave it to me, boyfriend?!” And have the doctor go along.  Needless to say, the doc refused. 

  • You’re so lucky to meet such interesting people in your job. You could have a really fascinating social life if you blended work contacts with personal life.

  • @sahel578 - Heh.  I’m yet to “go along” with pretty much any of the schemes my patients think up.

    @Roadkill_Spatula - This person really was quite normal in every other way.  I see much scarier patients.  I’ll stick with my current level of fascination with my social life, I don’t need to be shot just yet :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *