April 24, 2013

  • The time we spend

    Some interesting times.

     

    I have seen so many people lately going through so much pain.  Often I am the one who acts as messenger for that news.  

    In the last two weeks, I have told three people they have terminal cancer.  I have had a lengthy talk with a husband and wife about how incredibly sick he is, even though right now he feels well (and in four hours he died).  I helped to resuscitate a teenager who came into the ER with respiratory failure without a known reason who died.  I have had four patients with drastically life changing strokes.  I had to tell a good friends father that he needs to cancel his vacation plans due to invasive cancer.  I had to tell families that their son was burned and possibly fatally injured in a car accident.

    So much pain.

    Then, after each and every one of these occurrences I had to go back to work and smile and see more patients and pretend a part of me wasn’t crying on the inside.  I had to take care of other people  who were not dying, many who really were  not even that sick and pretend to truly care that their hip pain that they have had for over six months is today an emergency.

    It helps me keep things in perspective.  

    The time we spend.  The choices we make.  So many little decisions.  

    Make more time for family.  

    Make more time for friends. 

    One of my partners went to a funeral for a friend who died after fighting cancer for two years.  He was 35 years old with a 3 year old kid.  Man does that hit close to home.  Life is too short to be full of yourself.  Keep smiling and laugh as much as possible.

Comments (3)

  • Honestly, I think it’s amazing that you still have the capacity to care to that extent, and you’re a special person for it. I know it must be so difficult. I would be numb early on, I believe. From my point of view as a patient, it seems 90% of the doctors who treat me have become numb and callous, and while it is difficult when all I want is to feel better, I also understand that their “feels” have probably run out. I hope you have some kind of respite for yourself, and often.

  • Can’t imagine the pain and stress of this kind of work. Blessings to you.

  • @BohemianLotus - Thank you!  Compassion was one of the primary reasons I went into medicine.  I find it frustrating when so many people have had terrible interactions with physicians (then all I can offer is lame excuses saying “well, it

    shouldn’t

     have gone like that).  As for an occasional respite… you’re looking at it (now go find me a Young Adult Fantasy publisher for my book)

    @Roadkill_Spatula - Thank you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *